September 24, 2014

Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Francisco T. Duque III was named People Manager of the Year in Public Sector at the 38th People Management Association of the Philippines (PMAP) Awards held on Sept. 18 at the Waterfront Hotel in Cebu City.

CSC Chair Francisco T. Duque III (third from right) receives the People Manager of the Year in Public Sector award at the 38th PMAP Awards at the Waterfront Cebu City Hotel, Sept. 18. CSC Commissioners Robert S. Martinez (second from right) and Nieves L. Osorio join Duque onstage as he receives the trophy from PMAP National President Atty. Josephus B. Jimenez (third from left), PMAP Treasurer Teresita Eugenio-Dela Cruz (left), and PMAP Vice President Luz Co Laguitao.


It was the first time for PMAP to recognize a public sector manager (National Official level) and Duque was the first to receive the award.

Duque led the paradigm shift in the CSC from transactional to strategic human resource management and organization development with focus on citizen satisfaction.

He was awarded for charting a brighter and better course for the bureaucracy as head of its central human resource institution.

Since his appointment as Chair of the Commission, he crafted the strategy map that defined the course of the CSC in its governance transformation journey.

Under his leadership, the CSC received three Silver Governance Trailblazer Awards in the Performance Governance System.

The CSC also received four ISO 9001:2008 certifications in its core processes, namely, cases adjudication, exams administration, appointments processing, and external training services. Two other services—public sector union accreditation and Collective Negotiation Agreement (CNA) registration—are now recommended for certification.

The Commission also received a consistent rating of Good in two Pulse Asia Report Card Surveys on citizen’s feedback on the quality of its frontline services. CSC also got an overall citizen’s satisfaction rating of 98 percent in the same survey in 2011 and 2013.